Rafael Nadal answers if the Underarm serve is disrespectful or not
The underarm serve tactic was a very old shot as it might have happened at Roland Garros in 1989,
as Michael Chang was the first to make it an ace against Ivan Lendl. and it was normal for Lendl.
but it went viral after what happened between Rafael Nadal and Nick Kyrgios in Acapulco 2019,
In his second round, Mackenzie McDonald tried to play the underarm serve but Rafa was ready and made it a forehand winner.Embed from Getty Images
The Spaniard Rafa Nadal gives an answer about the underarm serve issue
Even with the big win score, Rafael Nadal answered some of the press conference questions about the underarm serve to bring an answer from the 19 slams champion.
Rafael Nadal simply answered that if a player is winning it’s a good tactic but if the opposite is happening then it’s not.
“If he’s winning, is a good tactic, If he’s losing, is a bad tactic. That’s all. For example, today for Mackenzie was not a good tactic,” Rafael Nadal said.
Therefore, Rafael Nadal had a serious comment about Nick Kyrgios’s underarm serve and expressed his opinion about that.
“If you do it with the goal to improve your game, or like a tactical thing, I support 100 percent,”
“If you do disrespect the opponent, is not a good thing.”
“Everybody knows internally if you are doing in a good way or in a bad way.”
“For me is no discussion about that. Is part of the rules, you can do it 100 percent. Is about yourself, if you feel good doing it or not. Depends.”
Also, Rafael Nadal will face Travaglia in the Third round of Roland Garros
before that, Rafael Nadal admitted He will practice almost every day,
and after every match, as this is a different Roland Garros than He used to play it.
I’m going to practice every single day and play the matches with the most positive attitude possible,”
“It’s true that it’s a different Roland-Garros, it’s completely different than what we are used to,” Rafa Nadal said.
“the meteorological conditions are very challenging,